Horseracing legend Lester Piggott will be guest at Ayr Racecourse


HORSE RACING legend Lester Piggott will be in attendance at Ayr Racecourse on Friday 24 October as a guest of sponsors Victor Chandler.


[UKPRwire, Sun Oct 19 2008] HORSE RACING legend Lester Piggott will be in attendance at Ayr Racecourse on Friday 24 October as a guest of sponsors Victor Chandler.

Eleven times champion jockey Lester is returning to the course 23 years after riding his last winner at the track - Vienna Belle, for trainer John Dunlop on 20 September 1985.

Lester missed out on riding an Ayr Gold Cup winner and his most notable victory at the course was for Henry Cecil on the Lord Howard de Walden owned Sabre Dance in the Land o’ Burns Stakes on 9 July 1982.

He rode his first winners at Ayr on 18 September 1963 when he scored on Snow Vista for Ernie Weymes and completed a double on Wrangle for Sam Hall in the featured Royal Caledonian Hunt Handicap.

Lester commented: “It has been a long time since I visited Ayr, but I am really looking forward to the day. I went up to Musselburgh a few years ago when Victor Chandler sponsored the Scottish Sprint Cup, and I always enjoy my trips to Scotland.”

Victor Chandler, who are sponsoring the nursery handicap, have arranged a number of promotions including a competition when race-goers can meet their hero.

Neal Wilkins from Victor Chandler commented: “We decided to sponsor at Ayr to give some of our loyal Scottish clients a chance to enjoy a great day out and spend some time in the company of one of racing’s greatest figures.”

Ayr Racecourse General Manager William Gorol commented: “We are looking forward immensely to having Lester Piggott back at Ayr Racecourse. He truly is a legend of horseracing, and I’m sure he will receive a warm welcome from the crowd.”

The course is operating a single enclosure day for 24 October with entry costing £14. For more information go online at http://www.ayr-racecourse.co.uk or call 0870-8505666.

The first race, the European Breeders’ Fund Maiden Stakes is due off at 2.10pm.

Downloadable images available at:
http://www.ayrshirescotlandbusinessnews.com/2008/10/horseracing-legend-lester-piggott-will.html

THE ELITE AYRSHIRE BUSINESS CIRCLE

Ayr Racecourse and the associated Western House Hotel are members of the Elite Ayrshire Business Circle.

The Elite Ayrshire Business Circle is an association formed last year of some of the top companies in Ayrshire.

Its purpose is to publicise its members, and to celebrate and promote the rich diversity of industry, commerce and business services available within the county boundaries of Ayrshire.

Members include the Clydesdale Bank, Ayr Racecourse and the Western House Hotel, and member company activities include building and construction, architectural practice, estate agency and land management, chartered accountancy, insurance broking, legal services, golf club management, marketing services and brand creation, web design and public relations consultancy.

For further information about The Elite Ayrshire Business Circle and to apply for membership, e-mail eliteayrshire@gmail.com

Founder members of the Elite Ayrshire Business Circle:

Clydesdale Bank http://www.cbonline.co.uk
Ayr Racecourse http://www.ayr-racecourse.co.uk
Western House Hotel http://www.ayr-racecourse.co.uk/hotel.html
CKD Galbraith Property Consultants http://www.ckdgalbraith.co.uk
Frazer Coogans Solicitors http://www.frazercoogans.co.uk
Accident & Injury Claims Centre http://www.accidentclaims.com
MacKay Corporate Insurance Brokers http://www.mackaycorporate-brokers.com
Donald Ross Estate Agents: http://www.donaldross.co.uk
William Skinner & Son Building Contractors http://www.williamskinner.co.uk
Sinclair Scott Chartered Accountants http://www.sinclairscott.com
Paligap Creative Agency http://www.paligap.com
ARP Lorimer & Associates Architects http://www.arpl.co.uk
Brunston Castle Golf Club http://www.brunstoncastle.co.uk
Accident & Injury Claims Centre http://www.accidentclaims.com
Visimetrics http://www.visimetrics.com
Fouters Restaurant http://www.fouters.co.uk
Christie Financial Planning Ltd http://www.christiefp.com
Allison Lightbody Waddell Chartered Surveyors http://www.alwsurveyors.com
Kestrel Press http://www.kestrelpress.com
Fame Publicity Services Public Relations Consultancy http://www.famepublicity.co.uk
Easton Property
Easton Kitchens & Bathrooms

Enquiries: Murdoch MacDonald
Telephone: 01292 281498
Mobile: 07833 667322
E-mail: Murdoch@famepublicity.co.uk
Web: http://www.famepublicity.co.uk
http://www.ayrshirescotlandbusinessnews.com
http://www.ayrshirebusinessnews.com

Issued on behalf of the Elite Ayrshire Business Circle by Fame Publicity Services Public Relations Consultancy.

Company: Fame Publicity Services


Contact Name: murdochmcd

Contact Email: murdochmacdonald@aol.com

Contact Phone: 00 1292 281498

>>Visit website